Mechanics of Materials

The group is concerned with the development of methods to calculate the strength of materials. To accomplish our goals, we work with experimental techniques, numerical methods (FEM) and theories for damage and fracture mechanics. Today, our work is focused on the strength of composite materials and adhesive joints. Increasing demands on lower emissions and decreased fuel consumption provide a strong driving force for changing from traditional engineering materials to light weight materials. Often these materials cannot be joined by welding. Adhesive joining provides an interesting technique that facilitates joining of different materials. Composite materials provide excellent strength and stiffness to weight ratios. They are often used in high demanding environments where the safety of the structure is essential. Within this field we develop methods to improve the predictability of strength properties. 

In order to make it possible to make industrial FE-analyses of large-scale structures, there is a need to develop methods that provide enough accuracy with rather large elements. We therefore develop methods where the adhesive layer is considered as a structural element. Similarly as the well-known structural theories of beams and shells, we consider the thickness of the adhesive layer as a parameter of the problem.

A presentation in Swedish for the public TV.

Current projects

Fatigue of adhesively bonded structures (2011-2013) is a KK HÖG project where fatigue of adhesive joints is in focus. Partners are Saab Automobile, Scania, Volvo Cars, Volvo AB and DOW. Project leader Dr Thomas Carlberger.

Så Nätt (2011-2013) is a FFI project with Volvo Car (previously Saab Automobile), FKG, Swedish universities and a large number of OEMs aiming at developing techniques to reduce the weight of cars. Local project leader Dr Thomas Carlberger.

EFFEKT (2009-2012) is a NFFP project with Saab Aerostructures. The project also involves Swedish research institutes. The project aims at improving effective use of composite materials in aircraft structures. Local project leader Dr Anders Biel.

FiKom (2010-2012) is a NFFP project with Volvo Aero. The project aims at developing methods to characterize strength properties associated with fracture of the fibres in composites. Local project leader Dr Anders Biel.

Research group  

 

Ulf Stigh Professor ulf.stigh@his.se
Svante Alfredsson Associate professor  svante.alfredsson@his.se
Anders Biel Senior lecturer  anders.biel@his.se
Thomas Carlberger Senior lecturer thomas.carlberger@his.se
Karl Mauritsson Senior lecturer karl.mauritsson@his.se 
Daniel Svensson Graduate student (MSc) daniel.svensson@his.se 
Tomas Walander Graduate student (MSc) tomas.walander@his.se
Alexander Eklind Graduate student (MSc) alexander.eklind@his.se 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Uppdaterad: 2013-01-19
Sidansvarig: Ulf Stigh